In my previous post, I walked through the process of ensuring that your PC can run Hyper-V on Windows 8.  This post is the next step, enabling Hyper-V.

The following assumes that you have already installed Windows 8 Pro or Enterprise on your PC.

Let’s get started.

1. Press Windows + R keys to open the Run box and type appwiz.cpl
appwiz-cpl

or, from Control Panel, select Programs and Features

2. Select Turn Windows features on or off

TurnFeaturesOnorOff

3. Select Hyper-V, and click OK

SelectHyper-V

The Hyper-V binaries is now added to your Windows installation.

Hyper-VApplyingChanges

4. Once Hyper-V feature is enabled, you must reboot your PC to complete the installation.

Restart

After your PC is restarted, Hyper-V Manager is added to your start screen.

Windows8-Start-Screen-Hyper-V

I use Hyper-V Manager often, so I chose to pin it to my taskbar. Here’s my Hyper-V Manager.

Hyper-V-Manager

Next post, I’ll walkthrough setting up networking on your PC (host) and your VMs (guests) with Ethernet and wireless.

