I followed instructions in Steve Mann’s post on how to add people results in ‘Everything’ search results page.  All is well when you type in only first name or last name of the person.

When I typed in first and last name, two results are shown.

TwoPeopleResults

One titled ‘People Results’ came from the newly created query rule (People in Everything), and one titled ‘People Named’ came from OOTB SharePoint query rule.

This is not the desired results for me.  I only want one people results returned.

I modifed the ‘People in Everthing’ query rule to match either first or last name (unless you have the same first and last name, this rule will not work).

{subjectTerms} (LastName:”{subjectTerms}” OR FirstName:”{subjectTerms}”)

PeopleQueryRule

The search results now looks like this.

OnePeopleResultsBlock

Happy searching!

