The process of upgrading from SharePoint 2016 Beta 2 to Release Candiate (RC) was pretty straight forward.

I started with my existing SP2016 VM that I already had Beta 2 installed and configured.  My VM is a single server farm with no language packs running on Windows Server 2012 R2 and SQL Server 2014.

The version of SP2016 on my VM before the upgrade was 16.0.1406.1001. You can download SP2016 Beta 2 here.

I downloaded the following two zip packages:

SharePoint Server 2016 Release Candidate English Prerequisite Installer.zip and SharePoint Server 2016 Release Candidate Global Patch.zip from here.

After I extracted the two zip files, I started with the PrerequisiteInstaller.exe.  I only had to reboot my server once for the .NET Framework 4.6 to complete its installation.

After the prerequisites installation process completed, I installed the sts.msp from the Global Patch zip file.

What I found interesting was the pop up window indicating that this file is from an Unknown Publisher.

RCPublisher

After the patch was installed, it prompted for a reboot.

RCRestart

After the server rebooted, I checked to see what the new version would be.

RCUpgradeRequired

Of course, it’s the same as it was before as I had yet to run the PSConfig.

After the PSConfig completed, the new version is now 16.0.4327.1000

RCUpgraded

Now, I’m ready to perform my next task – upgrade SP2013 databases.

 

Learn more about Centric’s Portals and Collaboration Practice

